top of page

How and why do you meal prep? Any suggestions for kids food prep?


Have you seen posts with the same food in food containers for the entire week? That my friend would be someone who "food preps" or "meal preps." Myself included. I used to think people who did this were nuts. Why would you want to eat the same thing day after day? Yuck. But, after I did this for a week or two, I was actually surprised by it. Why? Here are a few reasons why:

1. Meal prepping saves $$$$

Yes! You can plan a week out with the same few items keeping that grocery bill down.

2. Meal prepping saves TIME

This was something I really needed! As I was commuting over 2 hours a day with my last job I was forced to be organized every week. Sundays were my "food prepping" days cooking my meals for the week and supper around the same time. Every morning I would wake up, get dressed, eat, throw my lunch in my bag and be ready to go. No time for being late for a train as I had to be exact with leaving the house daily.

3. Meal prepping forces healthy habits

Here you go! Being prepared and controlling what you eat for lunch or supper each day with you meal prep for the week will keep you on track. No need to go out for lunch or reach for an unhealthy snack because you forgot your lunch. You can control how and what you need with your meals. And you know exactly what is in it because you made it!! Ideas: Breakfast-I make a large batch of oatmeal for the week and divide into glass containers. I grab and go in the mornings microwaving it then adding my PB Fit peanut butter powder with some almond milk. It is absolutely delicious. Add banana if you like! Link below! I usually buy this at Costco.

https://pbfit.com

4. Meal prepping is JUST EASY.

It usually takes about an hour of my time on a Sunday. Not bad at all. You can sit back and relax the rest of the week and not worry about what to make for lunch or supper or breakfast, for that matter the next day. Makes life easier!

Containers I use for meal prepping.

Breakfast containers: BedBathandBeyond

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/pyrex-reg-simply-store-trade-round-20pc-storage-set/1047554429?Keyword=glass%20containers

Lunch containers: BedBathandBeyond

https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/oxo-good-grips-reg-smart-seal-rectangle-glass-snap-container/3283822?Keyword=glass%20containers

5. Meal prep for KIDS?

I look ahead to the week for my children as well. I usually double or triple the pancake or waffles I am making on Sundays to have extra during the week. This can be used as breakfast or lunch ideas. I make their lunches usually the night before so everything is ready. I don't meal prep their lunches but have a plan for what they want during the week. I may make extra macaroni and cheese for a school lunch or leftovers from a supper. But, I usually make their lunches the night before so I don't have to do it in the morning. No one wants a soggy sandwich!

Snacks:

My children are old enough now that they can help me prepare for the week. I get out sandwich baggies and give instructions. I bring out the snacks-- pretzels, chips, crackers, etc. whatever munchies they are into and have them divide into daily snack bags for the week. This helps with reducing time making school lunches at night and they can grab and go for what they want when they need a snack.

So, there you go! The quick run down on meal prepping and how I do it at my house! Until next time!

Amanda

bottom of page