top of page

How to Organize and pack your bags for a Trip!

Travel Time! We are getting ready to Travel......and Move at the same time. Our house has been turned upside down, so I've been preparing for this big event in several stages and for several weeks.

My twin boys and I will be moving and travelling across the United States from the East Coast to West over the next few weeks. Before this happens, our moving company will be coming to pack and take our belongings, meaning we will be living in an empty house for a week. My boys will need to finish up with school and soccer also before we leave. Finally, once we get going on the road, our travel plan will bring us to stops in Wisconsin and Minnesota for a few weeks, before driving on West.

Got all that? :) So let's review the planning needs:

1. 1 week in an empty house to live in with two children. Things to think about: cooking (1 pot, baking sheet, cooking utensils, paper plates/bowls, silverware, cups) , washing (washcloths, hand towel, soap) , cleaning (always buy extra paper towels, cleaning supplies) , think about foods easily cooked/microwaved with limited cooking utensils and foods available. Frozen meals already made and easily microwaved. Toys (select a few small toys, definitely not noisy!! for home and the car, activity items such as coloring books, activity books, reading books ) and pack in book bag each of the children can bring for their car ride. Sleeping items all in large bag (cots/sleeping bags/mini pillows) for the week at home with no beds, towels for showering which you can double the swim towel for now. School backpacks, lunch boxes, sports equipment. Work out equipment (for me!) in workout bag. Most may think this is not needed, but you can simplify your needs with resistance bands, dumbbells, and running shoes! I am going to need to be creative with my workouts from now on.

2. Car travel: One book bag for each of the kids with-Small, pack-able toys, activity boards, marker/crayon box, movies, computer tablets for games/movies. Always find those chargers before you go anywhere and keep them all together in a small bag. Munchies, water bottles. Did I mention a cooler to bring food and bag for those munchies? I am not a fan of fast food or eating out when travelling. I want to get to my destination as fast as possible, so stopping for a nice sit down meal is never in my plans, plus it adds up cost wise. Fast food, I don't eat it normally, why would I eat it when I travel. It makes your feel tired and bloated, both of which do not feel good on a long car trip ! So, I think about easy to reach and eat foods on the trip. Already made sandwiches for all of us. I also pack baggies (one for each of the kids) of grapes, tomatoes, carrots, pretzels, cheese sticks, yogurts to keep everyone content. Change of clothes bag for overnight stay in hotel so you are not digging through your larger bags. This is one of my lessens learned in travelling to always have a small bag to go with all overnight items. Saves time and stress when you are exhausted and wanting some sleep. Have things in car that are always needed, as you know life, happens--first aid kit, mini tissues for kids, hand wipes, hand sanitizer.

3. Two weeks in Wisconsin and Minnesota. Always have to prepare for any type of weather in these states. Really, no joke! Weather can change so quickly. One bag for kids- Warm jackets, sweatshirts, jeans, short, t shirts, tanks, bathing suits, towels, sunscreen, hats. Clothes for getting dirty on the farm, dress up clothes for church, family get togethers, lounging wear, sleep wear. One bag for me-Active wear for me, dressy clothing, sleep wear, beachwear. Then the shoes and belts, and personal items. Having a designated beach bag helps for those day trips to the beach. Here you can stash goggles, water toys, towels, bathing suits, sunscreen, and hats.

4. Car travel: Yes, another car trip. Make sure everything stays organized as you want a clean car! Each bag has its place and function!

5. Work bag: Wait, work bag, you're on vacation! No, my work bag will contain important documents. And losing any of these during a move, would make me lose my mind. All my work licenses, certifications, kids immunization records, medical records, extra paper and pens. I do need to eventually find a new job, so as I've already applied to some places in our new state of residence, I might have to have telephone interview questions and important documents ready. Remember, by failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail, ~ Benjamin Franklin.

Happy Trails! ~Amanda

bottom of page