top of page

Adapting and overcoming.

After our recent move to Utah, I've learned to l shift gears a bit. I suppose this is how change or even growth happens to expand your mind and soul in new environments. I'm a routine-kind-of-a-gal and so change doesn't always come easy for me. Something I've learned through the military is when you are the newbie over and over again, you watch then adapt. Of course you are going to change as a person as the places and lives you connect with nurture you and bring on change.

I started this particular article soon after we've moved. I can already hear the change in me just by looking back at this and re reading it. So, here it goes: I've been in Utah now for 14 days. Day 1, we went on a family hike in the mountains hiking 3 miles at 9,000 feet and viewing a waterfall. The views were breathtaking and I was a bit slow on the hike due to the change in altitude. Day 2, we drove an hour North and listened to live blues music, had a brew, and watched others enjoy BBQ at a ski resort in the mountains. Day 3, we found a local outdoor and purchased a membership to connect with the community and cool off in the desert heat! 100 degrees daily is no joke when you're not used to it! Day 4, we found a biking trail near the house and went on it. Mountain biking is a bit different than regular bike riding on paved sidewalks, so my kids were frustrated with how hard they had to work to bike! Day 5: we took a drive South and hiked ( a very scary trail to me, although the map said green for easy, ha!!) to see a large water falls and enjoy the day outside. The other days we chipped away at unpacking and organizing our new home. Time seemed to fly by this summer with so much to see and do in our new state. The 4th of July was approaching, so with the few people my husband knew from work, we had a BBQ at our house for good laughs and fun together. Almost everyone at our house was from our home state of Wisconsin ( how cool!) We let our kids stay up late to watch the fireworks and play with neighbor kids to then be shuffled on to bed for a trip the next day. I started writing this article as we were returning from our last minute trip to Idaho. Idaho? Why would anyone go there? Well, I have never been to Idaho, my husband was itching to do some camping, and he also had a long weekend off due to the holiday. Random it seems when we have the entire state of Utah to see. But Utah in the summer is HOT!

I am definitely not the "adventurous type" when it comes to camping. I do it for my family. Worrying about everything that could and does go wrong in nature plagues me and it is a struggle when we are gone. "What about bears? Rattlesnakes? " What if they fall and hurt themselves down there. Why are we driving up and on the side of a mountain when your kids are in this vehicle? The list goes on and on with the helicopter parenting. But, I've had to adapt or maybe, wanted to change. With these sometimes terrifying experiences, I have learned to be more spontaneous instead of being "boring old mom". Spontaneous in my mind meaning--I am dirty and hot from hiking and camping all day. I want a shower. Oh wait, there are no showers. But, there's a stream, go jump in it when it's dark out and bathe. Yup, I did. And it felt great. So what if the water was freezing cold and I was not covered up completely. It was dark out and no one was around. It sure is nice going to be nice and clean because you know the waters that flow up in the mountains are crystal clear clean! We've needed firewood. So, we all go on a hunt for the wood. I didn't realize we would then need to possibly chop with an axe or saw this wood, so I've had to learn (along with my boys) in how to do this. Have to use the bathroom? Good luck as a lady. The woods are your bathroom. Seriously? Seriously. Figure it out. Nature, a bucket seat, you do your business. Is it spontaneous? Well, perhaps just "adapting and overcoming" as a female. I'm not sure, but I put it on the list anyways as it's something to talk about. I am not a heights person. At all. My husband thinks its hilarious to find camping spots on the top of a mountain in which we have to put the truck into 4 wheel drive (all off road, rocky terrain) to get there. Most people roll in with a 4 wheeler or Razor type off road vehicle and we have the big truck (with the kids). I recently had to get out of the truck to walk as I was sick of being rocked back and forth up and around this off road trail to the campsite. When you are inches from falling off the side of a mountain, you rethink how (fun) this experience is. My husband thinks it's great.

We recently spent a day (not camping) and exploring a local ski resort with summer events. There was an opportunity to ride a large ski tram up the mountain (basically a big bus that goes up in the air) to the top of the mountain at 11,000 feet. Ok, I'm sure its beautiful. My family wants to go. Oh wait, I see babies and young kids going--No problem, I can tough it out. Ok, so the ride up to the top was absolutely beautiful. There were a couple of positions that tilted the whole tram up or down based on where we were in the ride that were a bit gut wrenching. But, I made it to the top! Yeah! I thought it would be a wonderful sightseeing experience, then down the mountain we would go on the tram. Nope. My husband and kids had to get the "full experience" and decided to walk down the mountain (this started with the double black trail). I inched my way down the top of the mountain (yes, I was only walking) to join them. I was shaking on my way down, heart was pounding. My family of all males, staring back at me and laughing. It is not fun to have to conquer your fears with everyone laughing. I am trying, I swear!! I yelled at my kids to stay away from the edge of the trails as there were steep cliffs. We made it past a tunnel that goes through the mountain (which was cool) and then came to a stop. The way down I learned was the ski chair lift. Whhaaaattt? I thought we were taking the tram down! Since this was my only option, I had to go with it. I watched a couple go down before us. It has been years since I last was on a ski chair lift. And not in Utah! Wisconsin--the ski hills are HILLS!! So, on we went to the lift. I white knuckle gripped the bar and back of the lift chair. It was stunning up in those mountains but the ride down was like an ongoing rollercoaster ride. The descents were very steep and I later learned the chair lift was actually reverse direction which pointed us down even more! It was pure terror for 20 minutes straight. So much deep breathing. If this is what it takes to prove I can spend time with my family and be just as tough as them as a woman, oh man! But, I did it (although painful) and got through it. I'm adapting and overcoming. What is next, I don't know or perhaps don't want to know. This is definitely going to be the year of change for me--I'm all in!

~Until next time, Amanda

bottom of page