top of page

When do you go back to work?

Ah... when are you going back to work? Seems like too common of a question I get these days. I am a working professional. I've always worked. But, we recently had a military move across the country and well, I haven't been working. I've applied for jobs, interviewed. I've updated all of the new state licenses. I've done a ton of work and am coasting until work begins. But, why is my family and other so relentless? What is with all of the questioning?

This summer was an "off" summer meaning I was responsible to move our family across the US and get established in our new state. In addition to worrying about my own career, I've had to look at schools, after school programs, kids sports, churches, you name it. I've been busy. I've also been busy with the ordinary stuff in life like cleaning, washing, making meals. Now that my kids are back in school for the year, it's just me. So, in addition to many of my family members asking, so have the new neighbors. When are you starting work?

I don't know about you, but remember back to when you were dating your then boyfriend, before he became your husband. You start dating for a while and others start asking, "When are you two getting married?" Then you get married and it's "When are you two going to have kids?" Then it's, "When are you having another kid?"

It never stops. I don't remember a time when I've specifically asked a family member, friend, or neighbor when they were going back to work if they didn't work. Why does it matter? How does it affect them? What if I did stay home and ate bon bons all day? Would that bother them? I am actually excited to be going back to work and having structure in my life again. This summer freedom has been amazing and I wish it could last. But, I also want to do what I love (in addition to writing) and help others. I MISS PEOPLE. I am a creature of routine and for my survival I need people, work, routine, and a little extra money also helps. I don't like to worry about money and if we can afford something or not. I am used to being comfortable and doing what I like. Not working means I need to ask myself, do I really need this? Do we really need to go out to eat or should we be staying home tonight? But, back to my point of going back to work. It is a personal thing. Everyone doesn't need to know my business, I feel like. But, what's with the questions? People want me to use my two college degrees and ensure I continue the path I've chosen in life. They want to make sure I am grounded and feel fulfilled beyond caring for my family. They want me to "fit in" to society's standards of working and being a productive citizen. I do too and it will come. Don't rush it. I have so much time to work! But, asking me when I am going back to work sometimes just seems silly. I don't ask stay at home moms (or dads), "When are you going back to work?" Maybe someone has better thoughts than me on this, but those are mine for right now. Work will be here sooner than I know it! :)

~Til next time, Amanda

bottom of page